Daytime Emmys 2019: Y&R, General Hospital Dominates The Night

Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Pasadena, CA hosted the 46th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards on May 5th. Mario Lopez and Sheryl Underwood were the hosts. It’s not a matter of surprise that Young And The Restless received the award for the best drama series. The fans also got to see a red carpet pre-show as well as the backstage post-show.

The Young and the Restless: 46th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards Big Winners

Interestingly, Shemar Moore was the one to announce that The Young and the Restless has won the award for the best drama series. He handed out the award by yelling that, “Kristoff, this is for you baby!” He was referring to the beloved and the very talented actor Kristoff St. John who passed away in February. He played Dr. Neil on the show. Throughout the ceremony of the Emmy, his passing away remained to be a heavily played event.

Moore also called Kristoff the Denzel of daytime TV. At the time, he was quoting the famous Y&R actor Bryton James. The audience also responded to his comments with a massive round of applause. All in all, his passing away was certainly hard on the fans as well as a major loss for the entire entertainment industry.

Winners Of The 46th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards

Let us now take a look at the big night’s winners.

  1. Lifetime Achievement Award
    Judy Sheindlin
  2. Outstanding Daytime Digital Series
    After Forever
  3. Outstanding Drama Series
    The Young and the Restless
  4. Outstanding Game Show
    Family Feud
  5. Outstanding Entertainment News Program
    Daily Mail TV
  6. Outstanding Morning Program
    CBS Sunday Morning
  7. Outstanding Informative Talk Show
    Rachael Ray
  8. Outstanding Legal/Courtroom Program
    Lauren Lake’s Paternity Court
  9. Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show
    The Ellen DeGeneres Show
  10. Outstanding Culinary Program
    Valerie’s Home Cooking
  11. Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series
    Maurice Benard (General Hospital)
  12. Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
    Jacqueline MacInnes Wood (The Bold and the Beautiful)
  13. Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
    Vernee Watson (General Hospital)
  14. Outstanding Younger Actress in a Drama Series
    Hayley Erin (General Hospital)
  15. Outstanding Younger Actor in a Drama Series
    Kyler Pettis (Days of Our Lives)
  16. Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
    Max Gail (General Hospital)
  17. Outstanding Guest Performer in a Drama Series
    Patricia Bethune (General Hospital)
  18. Outstanding Culinary Host
    Valerie Bertinelli
  19. Outstanding Informative Talk Show Host
    Hoda Kotb, Kathie Lee Gifford
  20. Outstanding Game Show Host
    Alex Trebek
  21. Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Host
    Kelly Ripa and Ryan Seacrest, Live!

Fans can watch the entire broadcast online to gain deeper insights into the award ceremony.


Leave a Reply

Notify of